Thanksgiving 2014

I hope everyone had a most wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

I have so much to be thankful for this year and every year.  This year, in particular, I’m beyond thankful that my mother is doing so well with her breast cancer treatment.  I just know she is going to be fine come March when the radiation is over.

I am also thankful for my new husband and the new, artsy, loving, inclusive family he has brought into my life.  He is everything to me, and as my “original family” (That’s a Coane word that I married into.  It means the family into which you were born.) is changing so rapidly these days, it was so compassionate of the elder Coanes to invite my “original family” to share in their Thanksgiving.  As it turned out, due these changes of which I speak, my brother, Max Malanga, ended up hosting Thanksgiving at the apartment he shares with his just lovely girlfriend, Allie.  He calls her Allison, which I think is very endearing.  It ended up just being my mom and me at my in-laws, but it was a great time.

Monogrammed aprons from my bridal shower.  I can't believe I got Max to wear it!  I kept saying "Now, put your costume on!"

Monogrammed aprons from my bridal shower. I can’t believe I got Max to wear it! I kept saying “Now, put your costume on!”

I picked Hubby up from the airport at noon.  With a husband who is a top-notch sommelier, we of course had to make Wally’s Wine our first stop.  We made a pit-stop at home to pick-up the base of my double batch of leek bread pudding, and so Max could snuggle with our Maincoon, Smudge, and then we headed to the in-laws.

Despite coming in that very afternoon, Max made 3 dishes.  This guy’s no slacker.  We cooked and drank champagne and looked at each other lovingly all day (see photo above).  Splendiforous!

The spread!

The spread!

Thankful group! (Max and I are in the very back.)

Thankful group! (Max and I are in the very back.)

There was a lovely dessert picture, as well, but it was blurry.  I was fucking around with our new fancy camera, but I didn’t have a memory card.  Duh, Megan, just duh.  Someone at the festivities let me borrow hers, but I had to return it at the end of the night.  So weird how people always want their property back! haha  I don’t even know if any of the pictures I took would have been any good at all, as I am a total n00b when it comes to photography, but I’m trying to learn.  I want to have amazing pictures of our vacations and of our kids (one day).  I’m thinking of taking a class and learning Photoshop.  Do any of you have online classes for photography and/or Photoshop that you would recommend for a beginner?

My good-lookin' hubby!

My good-lookin’ hubby!

After dessert, Max, who was also sick with a terrible virus or cold, just wanted to cuddle with his “original family” animals and head immediately home.  He flew out the next day.  He is already missed greatly, as he is every single day.

photo 4

HAPPY THANKSGIVING 2014 FROM OUR “LITTLE FAMILY” TO YOURS!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2014

  1. Pingback: Emptying The Fridge. | therocklawbster

  2. Pingback: Turning 29 #2 | therocklawbster

Leave a Reply

