Compost Cookies.

Ok, Ok. So everyone knows I’m not the one to be counted on to make the lovely holiday spread.  I leave that to the experts: Husband, Mom Malanga, even Allison.  However, I always make sure I contribute to the hard work that goes into creating such a wonderful, and let’s be honest here, totally gluttonous celebration.  My grandmother, Nana, used to make several batches of different cookies around Christmas.  I carried on her Christmas cookie tradition this year, but with a hip twist.  I’m bringing Momofuku Milk Bar‘s Compost Cookies to Christmas.

They get their name from the fact that you throw in all the yummiest, stoner snacks you can find and somehow magic is made in that rather large stand mixer.  Something sweet, salty, and delicious!

photo 1 (9)

photo 2 (10)

Here’s a link to the recipe, but the real trick to to personalize these to find that perfect balance of salty/sweet that you like using all your favorite snack foods.

Here are a few of what I consider non-negotiables;

  • chocolate chips
  • crushed heath bars
  • potato chips
  • pretzels

This year, I also threw in:

  • chocolate chips with caramel inside
  • tortilla chips
  • Ritz crackers

Some people really enjoy throwing in oats and/or coffee, too.  I go both ways on the coffee grounds, but my family, particularly my brother, isn’t fond of coffee so I don’t use it when I make Compost Cookies for my fam.

photo 3 (8)

This is my favorite batch I’ve made to date, but the real test will be when they arrive at the Malanga house this afternoon.  I’ll know if they are well-received by how fast they disappear!

Leave a Reply

