Low Carb Grilled Cheese, Yes Please.

I love what a huge dork I am.  Who wouldn’t? hehe

I finally made it to the grocery store today for the first time since we got back from LA.  It is bad when you go to your fridge and cupboard in the evening thinking of what to make yourself for dinner (don’t forget Max is always working in the evenings) and you just sort of give up and decide to have a handful of nuts and three mini candy bars for dinner.  It is even worse when your husband asks if you might swing by the grocery store today because there is “no food”, and he is totally right.

Things I’ve noticed about grocery shopping in San Francisco:

1. I can’t buy in bulk because I have to be able to carry home everything I purchase.  I don’t think I’m alone in this because the baskets are way more popular than carts here, and it is the opposite in LA.

2. The produce is generally of a higher quality.  I think this is true.  Everyone says it is true.  I’m able to buy really delicious cherries and heirloom tomatoes right now.  Max always tells me this is why the restaurant scene is generally better up in Northern California.  He says you have a better chance of walking into any little joint in San Francisco and having it be really good than you do in LA.  Probably not true of Mexican food.

Anyway, last night when I was uninspired, I happened upon a can of tomato soup.  With that in mind, I decided today to try a new recipe that made that soup sound 100% more appealing.  It needed a grilled cheese, duh.

IMG_3535 IMG_3533

CAULIFLOWER CRUST GRILLED CHEESE

Cauliflower crust “bread” slices
1 small head cauliflower, cut into small florets (should yield 3 cups of cauliflower rice)
1 free-range organic egg, lightly beaten
½ cup / 1.7 oz / 50 gr shredded mozzarella cheese
½ teaspoon fine grain sea salt
¼ teaspoon ground black pepperPreheat oven to 450°F (220°C) and place a rack in the middle.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and liberally grease it with olive oil. Set aside.
In a food processor rice the cauliflower florets (it should be evenly chopped but not completely pulverized).
Transfer cauliflower rice (about 3 cups) to a microwave-safe dish and microwave on high for 8 minutes, until cooked.
Place the cauliflower rice in a tea towel and twist it to squeeze as much moisture as you can (I usually squeeze out over a cup of liquid). This is very important. The cauliflower rice needs to be dry, otherwise you’ll end up with mushy dough, impossible to use as slices of bread.
Transfer the cauliflower rice to a mixing bowl, add egg, mozzarella, salt, pepper and mix well.
Spread cauliflower mixture onto the lined baking sheet and shape into 4 squares.
Place in the oven and bake for about 16 minutes until golden.
Remove and let cool 10 minutes before peeling them off the parchment paper (be careful not to break them!)

I pulled this recipe from a blog I found, which looks really cool.  Right up my alley in that the guy, Mike, makes a lot of traditional “comfort foods” but makes them healthy.  I only provided the part of the recipe for his cauliflower bread slices, sotr of figuring you know how to make a grilled cheese from there, but if you want the full recipe, and you should, go to http://www.theironyou.com/2014/05/cauliflower-crust-grilled-cheese.html.

The cauliflower dough thing can be tricky. I really think it comes down to getting all the moisture out.  This is not super easy.  The whole day I had the handyman here.  Seriously, the whole day, and on and off I was squeezing moisture out of the cauliflower shreds and even blowing them with a hair dryer, which is tricky because the shreds do fly everywhere.  I had done a cauliflower pizza before and it had been mushy, so I was extremely sensitive to this issue.  I mean, the stakes were kind of high.  If I didn’t get it right I would be stuck with that unappealing can of tomato soup (which was very yummy) that had left me so uninspired.

But I got it so right this time. So freaking right. I sent pictures to my mom and Max.  It was gooey.  It was awesome.  I win at cooking today.

Possibly, I’m much too proud right now for the task I’ve accomplished. Big deal for me.  I don’t do a lot of cooking (though the fact that this is my second cauliflower bread substitution attempt, I think, makes me decent).  Anyway, the point is, it was super good.  Totally tasted like grilled cheese.  Even better than zucchini pasta, of which I’m a huge fan.  I’m tricking my brain. haha.

All this wonderful food in San Francisco and I’m making cauliflower bread grilled cheese.  It wasn’t even organic.

Leave a Reply

