Worthwhile Trip to Sam’s

IMG_3659

You can’t say I’m not a woman of my word.  I said I would satisfy my hankering for a good old fashioned American cheeseburger, and lo and behold, I bring you “a trip to Sam’s“.

The saga begins on the 4th of July.  I was walking around Hayes Valley and there was a vendor making hotdogs, presumably for the holiday, as I don’t recall ever seeing him there before.  I thought about getting one because it would be totally in the spirit of things, but just looked longingly as I walked past.  Later I went to Max’s restaurant where I had fancy cocktails and desserts.  I knew then as I was sitting at the bar that this simply would not do.  I would have to find myself a cheeseburger…another time because it was already past midnight and I turn into a pumpkin around then.

I did a fair amount of research-meaning I asked Max where the best cheeseburger in San Francisco was, he told me Sam’s (he included that he had eaten there at 3 in the morning one time.  I didn’t ask.), and then I independently confirmed with the collective Internet.  That’s hard science right there.

Once Saturday rolled around, I was excited to make my trek to Sam’s.  It was a decently lengthy walk, but this was, like, the big plan for the day, so I could spare the time.  I figured if I was tired, I’d just Uber home, but I’m happy to report I walked BOTH freakin’ ways.  I mean, when all the day really calls for is stuffing your face with one of Anthony Bourdain’s Top 3 Burgers in the World (and fries and a  coke), walking is probably a good idea.

My walk was better than I anticipated.  I got to see some cool parts of the city that I’ve only seen from cars.  I walked from the Tenderloin, Union Square, Chinatown, and Nob Hill.  I got close to the Embarcadero.  I impressed myself walking home through Nob Hill, and yes, my calves were fairly sore the next day, but the views were glorious and that Fairmont Hotel there-swanky.  It was worth the uphill climb.  Also-trolleys!

Union Square

Union Square

IMG_3677

I arrived at Sam’s and took a seat at the counter across from the T-shirts for sale that read “That’s a good motherfucking burger! Top 3 in the world!”-Anthony Bourdain.  Max is a diehard Bourdain fan, so that was kind of neat.  I would tell him, but he already knows.  We haven’t discussed it, but, believe me, he already knows.  I ordered a double cheeseburger, fries, and a coke.

It is just one dude there manning the grill and serving.  He was curt, but not too intimidating.  He seemed chummy with one of the other customers.

IMG_3675

IMG_3668

The BURGER! Actually, can we just go back right now? Because I’m thinking about this burger now, and I took a spin class today, and, and…this burger is freakin’ fantastic! Definitely one of the best burgers I’ve had in my life.  I would say it reminds of an In-N-Out burger, but better.  Something about it was so authentic, though.  And it was cheesy.  It was a treat for both my eyes and my palate.  I mean-look at it-it’s a thing of beauty!

IMG_3662

And even though it wasn’t super cheap, and I kind of feel that burgers should be cheap as a matter of principle, I will be back to Sam’s for sure-probably soon.  I satisfied my craving from a week prior and explored my new city in an afternoon; a beautiful afternoon at that.

A few more pictures from my outing to Sam’s below:

IMG_3669

WORK HARD BE NICE

Cat a local bodega

Cat a local bodega

IMG_3678

I love the guy on the motorcycle pointing.  Is he pointing at Sam's?

I love the guy on the motorcycle pointing. Is he pointing at Sam’s?

IMG_3667

Leave a Reply

