Playing Tourist at Fisherman’s Wharf

DSC_0063

Max and I were recently accused of being like tourists in San Francisco.

Our friends Dave and Martha joined us on a bench on the pier.  They had called a few minutes earlier just to see what we were up to because we can usually be counted on to be doing something a little out of the ordinary.  So maybe it’s cheesy that we live in San Francisco and went for an afternoon hang at Fisherman’s Wharf, but it also makes us way fun, if I don’t say so myself.

It all started as a food craving, as most things do, right? Max was in the mood for crab, so we thought it would be a lovely afternoon to get our hands dirty and go grab some fresh seafood on the pier.  What’s better than good food in a beautiful location? Not much.  Not. Much.

DSC_0016

DSC_0020

IMG_4100

DSC_0041

IMG_4099

In our ten years together, Max and I have been to Fisherman’s Wharf together more than once, so we already have some traditions in place.  We share a crab, a clam chowder bread bowl, (sometimes more food-depends on the mood) and we each have an Anchor Steam in a brown paper bag.  It’s freaking charming. And it is one of the only times in my life I will drink a beer.

DSC_0048

Showboating sea lion.

Showboating sea lion.

The other must is seeing the sea lions.  We love animals.  As a couple, we don’t necessarily share all of the same interests, but we both adore cute things and wild things.  I give you the Buffalo in Golden Gate Park.  We get pretty dorky around animals.  We have like basically pet names for many different animals.  I won’t embarrass my husband by sharing them here.  Sea lions also remind us of our old dog, so we have a special affinity for those guys.

DSC_0055

DSC_0058

You guys, it was just farting noises!

DSC_0057

It is not mandatory, but sometimes we also go to the museum of arcade games.  I don’t know if it is really a museum or just an arcade that happens to have a ton of vintage games and arcade pieces.  This is where we all discovered that Max is not “frigid” and where Max broke my finger playing air hockey.  He says it was not broken, but weeks later, it was still sore, so I am convinced there must have been a small fracture.  That aside, it was a really good day.

The weather has been just stupid nice here.  So, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to appreciate some gorgeous ocean views  this summer, which I hear is unusual.  I do sound like a tourist! haha.  Oh well, if the shoe fits, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

